The world is a place of flavor & delight. Savor it! • Image credit: Deposit Photos

How to Celebrate this Season: Find Beauty

Caroline DePalatis
Publishous
Published in
2 min readNov 22, 2016

--

I wrote this as a poem to share the joy, wonder and glory I experience as I connect in love with international women (and their families) from all around the world. Medium does not allow me to format well as a poem, so I’ve used the “|” to indicate line breaks.

I Find Beauty

I gaze into the translucent blue eyes of my Ukrainian friend | Savor the spices of lovingly prepared Biryani | Delight as I hold the newborn baby of my sweet Polish sister | And I find Beauty.

The swash of a headscarf enwraps me in its folds | As another friend pours Turkish tea into my filagree cup | A moment with my Tunisian friend stirs my soul to dance | And I find Beauty.

Our table fills with dishes from many lands | Thoughtfully and skillfully prepared by hearts and hands | We come together and celebrate this moment | Forever seared in our memory | And I find Beauty.

My friend from Portugal, my friend from Japan | From Syria, Taiwan and Pakistan | From Germany, Colombia, Indonesia and Thailand | Gather together | And I find Beauty.

My heart is full, my gratitude abounds | I could not have planned such a glorious dance | The world in my home, the world in my heart | Gathered together.

And I find Beauty.

You can read more of Caroline’s writing at www.cultureweave.com and here on Medium. If you want to be part of the solution, download our free ebook, You can be the Bridge: A CultureWeaver’s Manifesto, and get started today!

--

--

Caroline DePalatis
Publishous

writer • international educator • creative instigator+hope sower: yourglobalfamily.com • 15 smart ways to raise a global citizen ➤ http://bit.ly/ygf15SM 🌎🌍🌏