How To Come Up With a Short Story and Structure It

Part 4 in How to Write a Short Story: Coming up With Story Ideas and Actually Start Writing

N.A. Turner
Publishous
Published in
7 min readFeb 15, 2019

--

“Like every beginner, I thought you could beat, pummel, and trash an idea into existence. Under such treatment, of course, any decent idea folds up its paws, turns on its back, fixes his eyes on eternity, and dies.” — Ray Bradbury

‘How did you come up with that idea?’, this is the question people ask me the most when I publish my short stories.

I’ve written about it at length before, how to come up with ideas:

However, I did want to write another article about it in light of short story writing. Plus, in this article I want to take it to the next step: actually writing your short story when you have an idea. How can you structure your story so that writing comes easy?

--

--

N.A. Turner
Publishous

I write about writing & creativity. Short story writer and novelist. Amazon best-selling author. Free eBook with writing tips: bit.ly/TurnerMail