How to Do a Weekly Review to Increase Your Productivity

Evaluate what is working well and what isn’t.

Darryl Brooks
Publishous

--

A writer doing a weekly review
Photo by Isaac Smith on Unsplash

My weekly review used to go like this. Bring up my task management software and switch to a weekly view. Yep, got stuff to do in all seven days. Check. Done.

Like many things on my to-do list, the weekly review had become something to do by rote, simply to have something to check off the list. I almost deleted it as it had become useless, but then rethought the process.

Weekly reviews represent an essential step in productivity. Rather than delete it, why don’t I improve it and do it right?

So that is what I did, and it’s made a massive difference in my weekly productivity.

What a Weekly Review Is and What It Is Not

The first thing you have to do with any project or task is to define it. After all, how can you check something off as complete if you don’t know what complete looks like?

First, I thought back to when I started my system and did my first review. You remember that one. It’s when you set down your short and long term goals and objectives and mapped out this comprehensive plan for your life. Whew, that was a chore, wasn’t it?

--

--

Darryl Brooks
Publishous

Photographer & Writer-I shoot what I see-I write what I feel. Top writer in Photography, Art, Creativity, Productivity, Self Improvement, Business, Life Lessons