How to Get a Publishing Deal: The Unusual Way

The unexpected way I got a publishing deal

N.A. Turner
Publishous

--

Photo by Megan (Markham) Bucknall on Unsplash

Every aspiring author’s dream is to get a publishing deal and share their story with the world. If it were easy, everyone would do it. It’s the struggle that’s part of the payoff when you finally pull it off.

There is no one-stop way to get a publishing deal. At least not if you want to go with traditional publishing. If you self-publish, the Amazon Kindle store is probably the best way to go.

For the book I’m working on, that was not the road I wanted to take. I wanted a real publisher with an editor and everything. Someone who guides me and my story, so it becomes better. A publisher who helps me to promote the book in the right way when the time comes. I want my book to be in bookstores.

I’m writing a non-fiction family history rooted in the Dutch and French art world of the 1900s. My gran used to own a portrait of her grandmother painted by the Dutch painter Piet Mondrian, years before he became famous for his abstract paintings. It was our family secret. Up until my gran sold the painting, we weren’t allowed to ask questions. I never expected to find a family history rich enough that it could become a book.

My family was friends with Mondrian, who painted portraits of them and accompanied…

--

--

N.A. Turner
Publishous

I write about writing & creativity. Short story writer and novelist. Amazon best-selling author. Free eBook with writing tips: bit.ly/TurnerMail