I don’t think “Home” is a person, place, or a thing.

J.P. Hostetler
Publishous
Published in
4 min readJan 22, 2019
Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

I’ve had the privilege over the past few years to meet, work with, and befriend the some of the world’s most amazing people during my time in Europe…

People who are German, Romanian, Spanish, Italian, Bosnian, Belgian, Chinese, Dutch, Pakistani, Turkish, Indian, Korean, Portuguese, Argentinian, Irish, Chilean, Canadian, Danish, Bulgarian, English, Norwegian, French, Scottish, Polish, Egyptian, Australian, Philippine, Swedish, Russian, Mexican, Tajik, Czech, Moroccan, Finnish, even some US Americans….

There are more nationalities to this list and if I missed yours it wasn’t intentional…these are just a few that come to mind in these early hours…

So many incredible humans from all corners of the globe, all united by the same traits of goodness and kindness — a common humanity that has taught me, and continues to teach me, that each one of us wields the power to influence those around us and change the world.

It’s crazy to me to think that all the people from all these places were strangers to me at some point…now they don’t feel like they were ever strange.

Friendships are a funny thing, happening gradually and then all at once… I guess I’ll never fully understand the functions of love, I guess I don’t need to.

I’m drifting, this happens a lot during reflection…I’ll do my best to minimize it.

There’s something about watching the world fall away through in a port-hole window, looking out at the curved horizon (I’m writing this from the plane), which reminds me that each day, each moment, is a new stage of life — a perpetually occurring second chance gifted with each sunrise.

Collections of these second chances, commonly called days, are gathered into what we call a lifetime. I’m guilty of taking them for granted, infected with the naive notion that the next one is guaranteed — a sure thing.

They aren’t. Time is our most valuable commodity.

Speaking of time, I’m reminded that I’m hurtling through the sky in this metal bird somewhere between 350 and 500 miles per hour.

Yet with the joy in moving forward toward new horizons (this plane is bound for Dallas, Texas and then I’m onto Seoul, South Korea) there’s a staggering melancholy, a pristine rain of realization, which forces itself onto me as I look back.

Like water over rocks those we meet along our life path, including the actions we take erode us, wearing us down over time to reveal the smooth essence of who we are underneath.

I guess this wonderfully exhausting thing is what you call experience. The result being increased age and wisdom.

Is it paradoxical to feel as old and wise as ever but also as childish and naive as ever at the same time? I find it relaxing to think the more I know the more I know I don’t know! Is that weird?

I’m drifting again. Back to the current thought thread…

So many amazing people from all over our planet and a profound appreciation for them and the chance to get up every day and see them and try new things.

And then there’s something else on my mind…a slightly different but related topic.

I’ve thought a lot the last few years about this thing we call “home.”

What is it?

Where is it?

Who is it?

Why do we crave it?

The questions are still open and always will be, but here’s where I’m currently at…

I see home now as an idea. I don’t think it’s a what or a where. I don’t think it’s a who. It’s not fair to expect that someone give it to me — what pressure that is.

Home is the moment you allow yourself to be completely open to the world around you.

If we do it right it’s self-created, self-regulated, and universally understood.

Maybe I’m teetering here on some hippie-esque notions of the concept but hey, maybe my definition fits my lifestyle but wouldn’t be right for others? I don’t know, it’s just a reflection.

For now I want to get thoughts out…

A brilliant woman once told me that souls travel together, often helping and guiding each other along our paths as we go…She's right and I have been fortunate enough to live it time and again. Thank you all for helping me and guiding me. I know I wouldn’t be where I am without you all.

If I could sum up anything I’ve learned from the past few years it would be to stay open to the world around you. I don’t care what the media says or what stereotypes make us believe…the truth I’ve seen is that people want to be our friend, they want to help and be accepted just like I do…we are all just too often too shy and too doubtful in ourselves to take the step outside our comfort zone.

Vulnerability is only weakness if you don’t mean it.

When you do put yourself out there amazing things happen… you let your light shine and in doing so enable others to do the same.

If I could wish for anything it would be for continued learning and uninhibited curiosity for myself and all those I meet.

Enough said here…upward and onward to the next adventure! This time in Asia!!!

I hope everyone finds the courage in themselves to do the things they think they can’t in 2019.

--

--

J.P. Hostetler
Publishous

Discovers stories in that place where travel, magic, and culture fuse | Author | Bibliophile and language enthusiast | www.jphostetler.world