I Just Got Back From Japan. Here’s What Shocked Me.

Totally unexpected!

Niharikaa Kaur Sodhi
Publishous

--

Image of the author

I recently visited a destination that’s on most people’s ‘bucket lists’ — Japan.

After reading about it for years because Buzzfeed and YouTube have made it such a dream place to visit, I thought it was finally time to go.

Moreover, my husband and I love Japanese food. We’ve both travelled extensively across Europe and wanted to try out something new. So we booked our tickets and went away for two weeks.

However, here are a few things that shocked me.

This perspective comes from travelling to over 25 countries because I saw things I’d never seen before.

How Quiet Everyone Is

Nobody talks!

Not on the train, not in restaurants, not on the streets.

The only noise on the streets of Tokyo are buses that play music or ad boards that play videos.

We had to work so hard to be as soft as possible while speaking and were absolutely quiet in metros. Hell, there was no sound of even children screaming or talking, which is so common in India.

But this relates to my next observation…

How Alone People Look

--

--