I Listened to Every Song in Taylor Swift's New Album. I Have Questions

This is NOT about whether it was good or bad

David O.
Publishous

--

Photo by Rosa Rafael on Unsplash

Friday was the first time in my life I set a task on my schedule for the day that says — listen to the new Taylor Swift album. This is not because I am a fan of Taylor Swift. I am going into the music business and I needed to research how the game is played.

Background

In my opinion, the artist who has taken over with the kind of buzz that Michael Jackson had is Taylor Swift. Many love her and many hate her too. And she knows how to use the love and hate to create a buzz around her music. She’s very good at it.

I am mostly indifferent about her. None of her songs are among my favorites. But I appreciate the wordplay in “Anti-hero”. That’s my view before listening to The Tortured Poets Department.

I wanted to see what the buzz was all about. I wanted to experience the new music frenzy and try to deduce the strings that are being pulled and what is pulling those strings. So, on Friday, I sat down and listened to all the songs on Taylor Swift's new album. Before I share my take, here is my first impression.

First Impression

--

--

David O.
Publishous

Business Strategist. Brand Advisor. Finance Author. I mostly write finance, business strategy & marketing content. Sometimes, artistic reviews