I Lived as an Early Retired Person for 6 Months; Here are My Thoughts About This Lifestyle

Many people dream of retiring young, but how good is it?

Desiree Peralta
Publishous

--

Photo by Charles Robert on Unsplash

In November 2023, I got fired from my biggest freelance job.

I lost 80% of my income, and the only things that I had left were my side hustlers (which left me between $800 and $1200 monthly) and $6000 from my last paycheck (I didn’t count my savings because my plan is not to touch them).

If you are aware of what is happening in the corporate world and the global economy, you will know that, currently, getting a job is almost an impossible mission.

Most industries, especially technology-related ones, are having difficulty paying their current staff and growing overall, so they are not hiring.

Even if you are good at what you do, you will have trouble finding a new job; many people spend 3 to 6 months trying to find something decent.

Many friends have even decided to change careers for a while to pay their bills because they can’t find things in their areas.

So, after searching without luck for a whole month, I made one of the most important decisions of 2024: taking a sabbatical from work.

--

--

Desiree Peralta
Publishous

Turning ideas into reality. Programmer by profession, Writer by passion. Finance and business advice. | Weekly money advice https://dessyperalt.substack.com/