boy crying, grieving
Photo by Kat Jayne from Pexels

I Lost My Last Brother Now What?

Remember the small details of life.

Published in
4 min readMay 15, 2020

--

Does grief worsen with the loss of each loved one? How do I find the answer to this? There were four, now all have departed.

The phone rang. It was Beth, my niece.

Uncle Richard, “I don’t know how else to say it, but my dad, your brother, Joe, died this morning.”

Joe on the left and I this past November

It was Wednesday; I guess Death doesn’t wait till Friday or the weekend. Death delivers its gut-punch whenever it pleases. It wasn’t unexpected, but I grieved none-the-less. I’m grieving the loss of my brother. But, the loss of the other three deepens my grief.

I’m the youngest of seven. The two oldest in the family are my sisters. Yes, that’s present tense. My sisters are 92 and 89.

The Armstrong line had nine in number, now only three remaining.

Now what?

“Death ends a life, not a relationship.” Morrie Schwartz in Tuesdays With Morrie by Mitch Albom

--

--

An Intentional octogenarian optimist. Your past is not a prophet, at best; it is only a teacher. https://relentless-creator-1966.ck.page/df7f1ab146.