I Met a Random Person in a Mall Food Court and Got the Best Writing Advice of My Life

He had the courage to give me tough feedback

Bobby Powers
Publishous

--

Image Credit: mediagoat on Pixabay

Several months ago, a retired gentleman named Bob emailed me after stumbling on my blog. He said he lived near me and told me he’d love to meet up to talk about writing.

I had never received an email like that before, so I had no idea what to do.

I was intrigued. I told my wife that I wanted to meet Bob. She asked me the typical spouse questions: Who is this person? Are you sure it’s safe? What are you going to talk about?

Despite my shortage of reasonable answers to any of my wife’s reasonable questions, I responded to Bob and scheduled a time to meet him at a nearby mall (read: a safe, well-lit area with lots of people around).

Bob and I met at a Panda Express in a local mall food court.

As it turned out, Bob was a published author. He had written several business books and had taken the time to read quite a few of my articles online.

Five minutes after meeting me, Bob leveled me with some unsolicited feedback:

“You write well and you have good content, but your writing is too dry. It needs more…

--

--

Bobby Powers
Publishous

Voracious reader | Writes about Leadership, Books, and Productivity | 1M+ views across 15+ publications & magazines | Visit me at BobbyPowers.net