I Tried to Cut My Own Hair And It Went Disastrously Wrong

You pay people to do things you can’t for a reason

Ryan Fan
Publishous

--

All photos of the author, taken from the author

“What’s the worst that can happen?” my roommate Samuel Sullivan asked me.

Yesterday, I tried to cut my own hair. I watched a couple of videos on YouTube after a long run and thought it didn’t look too difficult. And if I messed up, what’s the worst that can happen, right? My roommate Sam and I talked about what’s the worst that could happen if I messed up my haircut — the worst that can happen was that my hair would look terrible and I’d look like shit. Since I don’t take too much stock in my own appearance anyway, I figured why not try to cut my own hair.

The story behind why I tried in the first place is a birthday present from my girlfriend. She bought me a set of Wahl’s clippers with guards for all the hair lengths any man could possibly want, and I wanted to try them out. I certainly needed a haircut. I hadn’t gotten one for two months when my friend cut my hair, and the most recent haircut I got from an actual barber cost me $50, and I ended up looking like a chicken.

I want to give each barber a chance, but the fact is not every barber knows how to cut Asian hair like mine. In a predominantly white community where one older man was known to give terrific haircuts and received…

--

--

Ryan Fan
Publishous

Believer, Baltimore City IEP Chair, and 2:39 marathon runner. Diehard fan of “The Wire.”