It Took Me Years to Recognize the Aftershock of Trauma

What’s your story… What happened to you?

Sandy Peckinpah
Publishous
Published in
7 min readFeb 13, 2022

--

Deposit Photos/Girl under Rain @ mr_Brightside

It took me years to feel the aftershock from having great trauma in my life. I never asked for it, I don’t think anyone does. No one is immune to bad things happening, yet, everyone’s path to healing is different.

I used to hear people say they became stronger, better people after a life-altering event. I found that nearly impossible to believe until life challenged me to make a choice.

This is the moment it happened to me…

One day, my beautiful 16-year-old son, Garrett, woke up with a high fever. I raced him to the doctor’s office that morning, and he was diagnosed with the flu.

I took him home, tucked him into bed and fixed him chicken soup for dinner. I thought he was doing better. He finished the bowl of soup, and I sat up with him until he fell asleep watching Saturday Night Live.

The next morning I found him lifeless in his bed. The report after, showed it was an aggressive form of bacterial meningitis. It took him from life to death in less than 24 hours.

On that day, my castle walls fell to the ground

--

--

Sandy Peckinpah
Publishous

Write to be happy. Author, Blogger, Huffington Post, Thrive Global, on Medium since 2016. http://www.SandyPeckinpah.com