Photo by Sam Headland on Unsplash

It’s The Most Waitingful Time of the Year

Practicing Patience During The Holidays

--

It’s that time of year again when we strike up conversations with strangers as we stand in line playing the waiting game.

Yesterday, I geared myself up mentally and went to the one place I knew I would be waiting for a while: the post office. The one closest to where I live is a small storefront building in an again strip shopping center. I held a bit of hope that maybe people had chosen to go to the larger one down the street. Before I opened the door, I could see through the windows there was a line. I told myself hey, it’s Christmas and that’s what we do this time of year, we wait. So I joined the queue.

No one was complaining, though. At the counter, one lone clerk was doing her best to work efficiently and get us taken care of and out before closing time. Two small girls trying to keep themselves entertained gave us reasons to smile and think back to our childhood days of waiting in lines with mom, waiting to open presents, and waiting for Santa to come.

Photo by Anderson W Rangel on Unsplash

Behind me, also waiting, was an older man who was bothering everyone by showing his impatience with the waiting game. He complained about how slow the line was moving, of having to wait to buy stamps, of waiting in general.

I ignored him by making use of time and playing WORDS WITH FRIENDS on my phone. However, he didn’t like me not paying attention to him, so he tried engaging me in conversation by asking if I knew of some type of GPS device he could get for his grandkids. He didn’t want one they could wear on their wrists or one that came on a phone because, according to him, a person wanted to snatch these kids would look for a visible signal sender and yank it off as they took the children away. I listened and thought “Get them microchipped then.

He ranted about how people take kids from their homes, bus stops, shopping centers, and he wanted to protect his grandchildren from danger. No one could solve this dilemma for him so he changed the subject by whipping out his old flip phone and telling me that I was paying too much for my service and wasting money by trying to keep up with technology. I smiled and said my company pays my bill. Not the response he wanted, so he tried a different topic.

He wondered aloud if he should go somewhere else to buy stamps. The lady behind him stated he should go to the local convenience or grocery store Both carried stamps. He replied he had been there, but all they had were the ones with Santa Claus, and he was sending out a Christian message in his Christian Christmas cards. Santa stamps were not appropriate.

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

I cut my eyes toward him and gave him a once over mentally. Not once had I suspected he was a Christian. He had shown fear his grandkids would suffer from stranger danger. Even a Christian babe knows which scriptures to call upon to quell doubts. I will fear no evil. If I take care of the sparrows, I will also take care of you. The Lord is my strong fortress in whom shall I trust. Cast all your cares upon him for he cares for you.

His bemoaning Santa Claus stamps told me he knew little of saints in Christian history. Santa is the secular version of St. Nick, a wealthy man who threw bags of money into needy folks homes.

Eventually, he left after showing his lack of patience, a Christian fruit grown by those within whom the spirit dwells.

The word Christian means to be like Christ. If this man is one, then I prefer to be something else. Christ-like, he is not. Every dominant religion has similar tenets for which they are known. Patience is one they have in common.

Actions will always speak louder than words, so don’t preach what you don’t practice. Christian Christmas is the season of Advent, a time waiting. Secular Christmas is a time of busyness. Waiting in lines is expected. No matter what religious label you go by, if you go by any, or what holiday you celebrate during this time of the year, we all need to practice patience as we wait and enjoy the season while it is with us.

Photo by Melanie Pongratz on Unsplash

It is said; All goods things come to those who wait. Better things are waiting for those who practice patience.

--

--

J.L.Canfield, author, speaker, creative thinker
Publishous

J. L.Canfield, an award-winning author, writes informative and positive stories. Her pieces can make you think, laugh, and sometimes change your perspective