Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Lean Hard

Maria I. Morgan
Publishous
3 min readAug 11, 2018

--

She was in pain. Our Golden Retriever, Precious, had torn her cranial cruciate ligament. Surgery was unavoidable. The procedure went better than expected, but her sad, brown eyes spoke volumes — the operation had taken a great deal out of her.

A bright pink cast decorated Precious’ right rear leg, reaching from her paw to the base of her hip. Her gait was reduced to a hobble and she struggled to maintain her balance when she walked.

After taking Precious out to the bathroom a few times, I made a discovery. If I walked on her left side, she leaned against me taking advantage of the support I offered. Together we were able to cross the deck and make it down the couple steps to the ground without too much difficulty.

A similarity

I’m a lot like my dog. The difficulties of life take a toll on me — my steps become wobbly and unsure. Although I may not wear a visible cast, it’s clear to see I’ve been struggling and am in need of help.

The Savior reminds me of His presence on the pathway. He invites me to lean on Him for support:

Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light. (Matthew 11:28–30; KJV).

King Asa was one of the few kings of Judah who relied on the Lord when the going got tough. When threatened by the Ethiopians with war, Asa cried out to God:

Lord, it is nothing with thee to help, whether with many, or with them that have no power: help us, O Lord our God; for we rest on thee, and in thy name we go against this multitude. O Lord, thou art our God; let not man prevail against thee. (2 Chronicles 14:11).

King Asa knew he could lean on the Lord for support. The result? God defeated the Ethiopians and gave Judah the victory.

Your turn

What trial are you facing today? Lean on the Lord and receive His support!

Can I pray for you?

Heavenly Father, Thank You for walking beside us every day. Help us give You our burdens and lean on You. You offer support and comfort. Thank You for the rest You give. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Join me for the 30-Days of Praying God’s Word Challenge!

I’m really excited to introduce this 30-day prayer Challenge! Praying Scripture over the next 30 days will transform your prayer life. Will you join me for the Challenge? Sign up here (just click on the “Join the Challenge” button on my Home Page to get started).

--

--

Maria I. Morgan
Publishous

Inspirational writer and speaker. Regardless of the age of my audience, my goal is the same: to share God’s truths and make an eternal difference.