Learn How to Be Indifferent to What People Will Think of You

Here’s how to overcome your fear of external judgment

Omar Itani
Publishous

--

Photo by Ana Paula Lima on Pexles.com

The other day, I received an email from an aspiring writer who confessed that he’s been procrastinating from publishing his articles online because of his outright fear of what others might think of his work.

Have you ever felt this way? Where the entirety of you is pulling you toward creating something you love, but your worry for what others will think of you is holding you back from taking that action?

I’ve felt this way before, and sometimes, I still do.

Two years ago, when I quit my job to start my own business, my primary worry was that if I were to fail, what would my former colleagues think of me? I would look like a total fool, I thought. And exactly a year ago, when I began to write and publish my work on this blog, I worried that my friends and family wouldn’t take me seriously.

But it only took me a little while to realize this: Whether the business succeeds or not, and regardless of how my articles perform or what people think of them, I already won.

I won because I did it. I won because I made a move in spite of this fear. I won because I taught myself how to become indifferent to what people think of me and the…

--

--

Omar Itani
Publishous

Exploring the art of slow, simple, and intentional living. I post here every day: https://www.instagram.com/omaritaniwrites/ More at: https://www.omaritani.com