Photo by Erwan Hesry on Unsplash

Leave Room

Maria I. Morgan
Publishous
3 min readAug 3, 2018

--

I knew it was too heavy. I had packed my suitcase with everything from clothes and shoes to toiletry items. Not to mention my pillow.

The additional things I bought while we were in Florida did nothing to help the situation. The airport scale told the story: my suitcase was eight pounds overweight. Time to do a little rearranging.

Good fortune was on our side. The attendant who checked us in didn’t charge us for the additional weight. I made a mental note to pack lighter next time.

Scaling back

My suitcase was a glaring reminder of how I often live my life — filled to the brim with too many things. It wouldn’t hurt to do some evaluation and scale back; leaving room for other opportunities the Lord has for me.

Jesus provided the perfect example. He lived life with purpose. He taught and preached to crowds, mentored the disciples, yet found time to minister to individuals. No doubt His schedule was full, yet Jesus was never too busy to meet the needs of those who sought Him.

In Christ’s day, women and children were not considered as important as men. Even Jesus’ disciples had a hard time coming to grips with the fact that all people were valuable.

Important lesson

When little children were brought to Jesus for His blessing, the disciples made an executive decision: Jesus didn’t have time for them. He was far too busy to waste His time with little kids.

But Jesus was more than willing to rearrange the day’s agenda. His response is heart-warming:

But when Jesus saw it, he was much displeased, and said unto them (the disciples), Suffer the little children to come unto me, and forbid them not: for of such is the kingdom of God. Mark 10:14b (words in parentheses mine)

Something worth remembering. As I follow Jesus’ example, I need to leave room each day for the unexpected tasks He has for me. It’s often these tasks that make the biggest difference in the lives He wants to touch through me.

Your turn

What about you? Are you living life with a full ‘suitcase’? What step will you take to make room for the important things Christ has for you to do?

Can I pray for you?

Heavenly Father, Thank You for the timely reminder to make room for the kingdom assignments You have for us today. Help us not to be too busy to see the people You bring across our path who need encouragement from You. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Join me for the 30-Days of Praying God’s Word Challenge!

I’m really excited to introduce this 30-day prayer Challenge! Praying Scripture over the next 30 days will transform your prayer life. Will you join me for the Challenge? Sign up here (just click on the “Join the Challenge” button on my Home Page to get started).

--

--

Maria I. Morgan
Publishous

Inspirational writer and speaker. Regardless of the age of my audience, my goal is the same: to share God’s truths and make an eternal difference.