Let’s Heal Together

Bobby Benavides
Publishous
Published in
3 min readSep 20, 2019

Can I just begin this by saying, anxiety sucks! That is the only way I felt I could truly start this. Anxiety is a legitimate issue facing our society today. In many cases, it’s due to our obsession with social media and watching other people’s lives, then comparing them to our own.

I wish we could go back to when we could only know what we have, occasionally glancing at our neighbor's car, wondering what they paid for it, and going on with your day in what you own. Now, it’s all about checking the gram and judging, basing how well you’re doing on the curated images we find while scrolling.

This is a significant source of our everyday anxiety.

Then, there’s the anxiety that comes hits us out of nowhere. I had my first anxiety attack while driving to my office at a church I used to work for. It was still a new position, and I honestly felt like my heart was going to burst out of my neck. I know my heart is in my chest, but the pulse in my next was so extreme, I seriously felt like my heart had shifted.

All I know, if whatever the case, our anxiety is not only ours. When we face anxiety, our families go through it too. When we face anxious moments, our work is hindered. If you have children, they sense we aren’t our usual self.

Right now, it seems like anxiety is being lifted up because we are seeing celebrities, wealthy people, non-famous people, succumb to anxiety and depression. Now, depression doesn’t have to come with anxiety, but it definitely can be a secondary issue we face when we are dealing with our anxiety.

So, what more can I add to this conversation? Everyone is speaking about it. Medical professionals are talking about it. How can a pastor speak into this with any value?

Great question. I don’t know what I can add, but I know what I can offer. I can offer encouragement.

I want to encourage anyone and everyone walking through this hard time to talk about it. We are hearing a lot of medical professionals and counselors share what they know. The problem is, people facing anxiety have a difficult time sharing what they are going through and how they are feeling in the process.

We need to be better at opening the door for people to speak. You need to be open to share your dark moments. You need to find the right person to connect with, you can trust, and walk through the hard moments together.

What happens with anxiety and depression causes a sense of weakness. We automatically have the sense that something is wrong with us. We then find ourselves alienated because we feel like we are the only person struggling through it.

You are not alone. You are not the only person dealing with the things you think you are alone in. There are people all around you staying silent with their issue because they believe the exact same thing. Who knows what could happen in the world around, or your circle of influence, if you began to share your weaknesses?

If you find yourself feeling broken. If you find yourself feeling weak. If you find yourself feeling incomplete. Take time to open up to someone close to you.

Then, get help. Medical help is not a bad thing. Sit with a counselor. Talk to your doctor. Do what you need to do to help yourself.

The world needs you to be the healthiest you, but if you keep everything bottled up and hidden, you are not the healthiest you, you can be.

I am working through this, too. If you don’t have anyone, let me open myself up to you. Email me. Comment here. We can connect. I want to be a support for those who feel like they don’t have it. We need each other. We need community. It doesn’t have to be a big community, just a group of people we can rest with. Find someone, you have one here, and begin your healing and/or releasing of the pressure you’re feeling to be perfect. Open up. Let it out. Let’s heal together.

--

--

Bobby Benavides
Publishous

Lead pastor of New Community Covenant Church:Elkins in Elkins,WV. Author of Made For More: A Journey of Discovery and Purpose.