Not Everyone Will Like You, But That’s Okay

The only person’s opinion that matters is your own.

Matt Lillywhite
Publishous

--

Photo by maguialm alm on Unsplash

There’s a popular quote from Dave Ramsey that goes, “We buy things we don’t need with money we don’t have to impress people we don’t like.”

It’s true. We all want to be liked. We want to be respected and admired by everyone in our community. But more often than not, our desire to be liked tends to backfire.

Here’s the thing: when you try to please everyone, you end up pleasing nobody. As a result, your personality becomes incredibly dull, as you don’t want to say or do anything that causes conflict. In other words, you quickly lose any sense of authenticity.

This is my story. It’s how I lost my confidence a few years ago. My entire self-worth was wrapped up in the opinions of other people. If they didn’t like me, I felt worthless. That type of negative thinking is a recipe for an extremely miserable existence. Like Marcus Aurelius once wrote:

“It never ceases to amaze me: we all love ourselves more than other people, but care more about their opinion than our own.”

Upon reading that quote for the first time, I realized the only person’s opinion of myself that matters is my own…

--

--

Matt Lillywhite
Publishous

Full-time storyteller. Want to earn a living from writing? I'll teach you how to get started — https://mattlillywhite.substack.com