One Clap, Two Claps, Fifty Claps

Mary Hood
Publishous
Published in
3 min readNov 11, 2018

Just My Mind’s Wanderings

Okay, this picture is not my brain. When I first started writing on medium I tried to figure out the process, the algorithm (I used the word). Realizing I had the potential to be paid for things I wrote, my interest rose even higher. I could not, however, figure out the claps. It seemed some were getting thousands and some only a few hundred, or less. I still can’t figure out how it works. I think it has something to do with how many followers you have. I don’t have time to read 20 articles a day. I have a second life, the one away from the computer.

I did find myself checking all the time to see if anyone was reading and clapping, and to my surprise some were. Yay, at least I am a whisper.

I started sending my stuff to friends and family, cause they won’t look for it on their own. When one friend clapped, she gave me one. I stared at it. I had never gotten just one. What does that mean? Is that a high five? Is that a slap? Hmmm, so I asked her and demonstrated me clapping once.

“Is this what you do at a performance, or at church, I asked?

I demonstrated again. Yes, we laughed. Then she said she thought it was a ‘Like’, as on Facebook. She didn’t understand it any other way. She changed it later on. I still won’t let her forget it.

The very next week, my daughter gave me one clap. I had to explain it to her also. So she gave me three.

Now since those days, sometimes I get one from others. And it’s okay. I appreciate all of it. It’s an acknowledgement. It makes a noise.

What is this need for recognition and approval?

I would love to make money for my words, but I realize there are a lot of words and process I have to sift through to get to where God is bringing me. Claps are like stairs to the stars. Whether it is one at a time through the light of day where you can’t even see them, or 50 in the darkness, where they shine the brightest and you can direct your aim. Yes, sometimes we need the darkness to reveal the goal.

“To whom will you compare me? Who is my equal?” asks the Holy One. Look up into the heavens. Who created all the stars? He brings them out like an army, one after another, calling each by its name. Because of his great power and incomparable strength, not a single one is missing. (Is 40:25,26 NLT)

God’s algorithm is more complex than any computer genius can muster. He created the brain that designed it. I’ll just keep on whispering, and checking and appreciating each loud or soft applause. It’s what I find to write that makes me happiest anyways. I will reach the goal if I keep aiming for Him in the midst of the stars.

--

--

Mary Hood
Publishous

Born twice, I die daily. Serious about Jesus. What I write you may not want to read. Okay. I write what I believe and what I learn from others, just like you.