One tip on how you can improve your relationships

Mike Brennan
Publishous
Published in
2 min readDec 15, 2018
Digital Illustration by Mike Brennan

Relationships are super important to me. They always have been.

The desire to connect with people is deeply rooted in the core of who I am and impacts all that I do.

I love heart to heart talks over coffee with kindred spirits. I’m more heart motivated than head motivated.

Yet for all this relational wiring, I find myself at odds sometimes. In particular, when I am hyper-focused on tasks at hand (get in done mode.) It’s during these moments that my relationships are first to suffer. I can’t seem to take time out to make that personal phone call, or to make plans to hang out… I’m too busy. Maybe when this project is over. But of course, there is another right on its heels.

I was reminded recently of a time when I was younger, where I would be intentional about reaching out to someone (via a letter or phone call) just to let them know I was thinking about them and to offer some encouragement. It was truly investing in relationships.

So, I’m trying to recapture something from my youth. I am attempting to be more mindful and intentional in sending brief encouragements to people I know. Small deposits that over time can make big differences.

We all love being on the receiving end of someone sending an encouraging note, and on days where we really need them, they can feel like a safety raft. Your words could make all the difference in someone’s day. We all have the opportunity to let someone know we see them, really see them. And to let them know they are worthy of our time and attention!

So, here’s a simple plan I’ve been following lately:

  1. Choose one person every morning or at the same time of the day. If you are the praying kind, ask God to lead you to think about who might need encouragement on this day.
  2. Make it all about them. The point is encouragement. Be intentional and specific where you can be.
  3. Reach out to that person with a quick message. Make it three sentences or a brief audio message. Don’t let the obstacle of the amount of time derail your intentions.
  4. Be watchful on how your investment changes the quality of your interactions in your relationships.

It’s been amazing to see what’s been happening and I’ve only just begun!

So, who’s in? Let’s flood people with kindness and encouragement!

--

--

Mike Brennan
Publishous

Visual artist. I create Rock Star Pet Portraits & Pop Culture art. Check out more of my work http://www.mikebrennan.me