POV: You’re Starting Over in a New Town

How to build the life you want from the ground up

Crystal Jackson
Publishous
Published in
6 min readMay 1, 2024

--

Photo by HiveBoxx on Unsplash

I started my whole life over in my early thirties. I moved to a new town. I became a single parent of an infant and toddler. I changed careers. Everything about my life was upended.

I could have viewed it as a crisis, but I embraced the fresh start. I had chosen my town. Now, I would make a life in it.

I’ve been watching my parents pack up to relocate, and it’s reminded me of the inherent adventure that is starting over. Adventures sound fun, and they certainly can be, but they also come with fear, risk, and anxiety. Most people struggle with change, and I can honestly say that having endured change time and again often doesn’t make the transition any easier. If anything, it adds layers to our emotions when it comes to changing once again.

I look back at the last near-decade of my life in the town that I chose, and I look for the things that helped me make it my own. So, this one is for the people starting over — finding themselves fresh out of a relationship or in a new town, starting a new career, or simply adapting to a new lifestyle. May it help you find your footing!

Embrace the New

--

--