Why Men Don’t Talk

Want the man in your life to open up and share what’s on his mind? Here’s what’s really going on in his brain.

Roger A. Reid, Ph.D.
Publishous
Published in
9 min readJan 13, 2023

--

man and woman sitting on couch in deep conversation
Photo from Deposit Photo

I’m just as guilty of this as any man.

When asked about my well-being, I often answer with a curt, “I’m fine,“ regardless of whether it’s true or not.

Why the reluctance to be honest and share my man-feelings?

In most cases, a superficial response is automatic. I don’t think about it. I interpret questions related to my health and well-being as a default to initiating a conversation. I tend to give the question zero credibility because I don’t believe anyone really wants to hear the truth.

So why do I think that way?

Centuries of cultural conditioning have done a real number on men. Baked into society’s expectations, a man’s “feelings” were far less important than the need to conform to the traditional and socially-idealized version of a strong, respected, successful man.

Growing up, we were constantly told to take charge, steer the ship, plant the flag. Above all, we were supposed to keep our foot on the gas. “You don’t need to rest,” we were told, “you need to succeed. And if that means pushing harder, longer, stronger, don’t think about it, just do…

--

--

Roger A. Reid, Ph.D.
Publishous

Author of “Better Mondays”|Host of Success Point 360 Podcast|Tips & strategies on personal development-work-productivity-careers-life | https://RogerReid.com