Sixteen Bible Quotes About Hope

Jathan Maricelli
Publishous
Published in
4 min readMar 26, 2018

Daily defend yourself against despair.

Photo by Ron Smith on Unsplash

Although there is debate as to HOW to fix the brokenness in society, the fact that society is broken is not.

In my profession, I’m up close and personal with the good, the bad, and the ugly of humanity every single day. While there certainly are plenty of good people doing beautiful things, it would be naive to suggest that society is trending in a positive direction. In fact, it’s easy to find oneself despairing of hope that the future is going to be something that we’re excited for our children to be a part of.

Recently, since we share this bird’s eye view of society, a colleague and I got into a conversation on the ills of society. As our conversation came to a close, there was no doubt that we had successfully pinpointed what was WRONG with the world. What our talk didn’t produce was solutions for making the world a better place. Not wanting to leave our talk mired in the pit of despair, I asked my friend “So, what must be done to change things? How do we turn things around?”

She said, “I don’t know.That’s why I don’t like to think about it.”

The Good News is That There is Good News

I don’t blame her. I don’t like to think about it either. I’m sure lots of people use that same coping mechanism. I don’t have the luxury of being one of those people.

Fortunately or unfortunately for me, NOT thinking about what might be done to change the world is not an option for several reasons.

First, I have four children whom I’m raising in this fallen world. I must at least try to improve what they will be inheriting.

Second, as a Christian, I believe that I have a mandate from Christ share His message of healing and redemption with others just as it was shared with me.

Third, for better or worse it’s just not in me watch people fall apart and not try to do something to help.

With that said, the sheer scope, magnitude, and complexity of society’s brokenness are truly overwhelming. It’s an impossible task that sometimes seems hopeless.

That’s the bad news. The good news is there is good news.

Not just any ole’ good news, but an eternal hope that can be accessed and felt and utilized to beat back despair. Even in these darkest of times.

Therefore, when I need to switch the narrative from that of helplessness and despair to strength and hope, I turn to God’s word and meditate on a few of the following bible quotes on hope.

Perhaps you’re in need of a shot in the arm yourself. If that’s the case, here are a few of my favorites that keep me going.

Prayer Guide How-To

Here are few ways you can use them as a prayer guide:

  1. Meditate upon them each day before you go out into the brokenness of society.
  2. If you find things breaking down in your own life and home, meditate upon and pray them in the confines of your own four walls.
  3. Before and/or after logging on and being dragged down by social media, read over the quotes for a few minutes and develop and calibrate a hope perspective.
  4. Gather your family together and read them aloud at dinner or before going to bed.
  5. Print and post them in your children’s rooms.

Click here to download your printable version.

16 Bible Quotes About Hope

  1. Psalms 146:5 Happy is he who has the God of Jacob for his help, Whose hope is in the Lord his God,
  2. Psalm 16:9 Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoices; My flesh also will rest in hope.
  3. Psalm 31:24 Be of good courage, And He shall strengthen your heart, All you who hope in the Lord.
  4. Proverbs 10:28 The hope of the righteous will be gladness, But the expectation of the wicked will perish.
  5. Romans 5:5 Now hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us.
  6. Romans 8:25 But if we hope for what we do not see, we eagerly wait for it with perseverance.
  7. Romans 12:12 rejoicing in hope, patient in tribulation, continuing steadfastly in prayer;
  8. Romans 15:4 For whatever things were written before were written for our learning, that we through the patience and comfort of the Scriptures might have hope.
  9. Romans 15:13 Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.
  10. Colossians 1:27 To them God willed to make known what are the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles: which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.
  11. Lamentations 3:24 “The Lord is my portion,” says my soul, “Therefore I hope in Him!
  12. I Thessalonians 4:13 But I do not want you to be ignorant, brethren, concerning those who have fallen asleep, lest you sorrow as others who have no hope.
  13. Hebrews 6:19 This hope we have as an anchor of the soul, both sure and steadfast, and which enters the Presence behind the veil,
  14. Hebrews 11:1 Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.
  15. I Peter 1:13 Therefore gird up the loins of your mind, be sober, and rest your hope fully upon the grace that is to be brought to you at the revelation of Jesus Christ;

16. I Peter 3:15 But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts, and always be ready to give a defense to everyone who asks you a reason for the hope that is in you, with meekness and fear;

Call to Action:

Don’t miss my weekly content.

Download printable of 16 Bible Quotes About Hope

--

--