Taylor Swift’s “The Tortured Poets Department” Leaves Some Fans Underwhelmed

Others can’t get enough

Nicole Akers
Publishous

--

Photo by author

On Friday morning of Taylor’s new album release, I heard a blood-curdling scream that every parent dreads to hear.

The god-awful sound is indicative of imminent death.

I rushed upstairs to find the cause.

“Mom!!!!”

“What?” (And how do I save you from the unbearable pain you must be in?)

“Mom! Taylor Swift’s new release has a song title as my name!”

My whole body smiles; a traditional name she’s sometimes loved, sometimes hated, and now fully wants to assume because of Taylor Swift’s new release of The Tortured Poets Department.

As a lukewarm supporter and mother of two full-on Swifties, I’ve been sometimes a fan, and sometimes a critic.

Honestly, I couldn’t wait for the release either. In anticipation, we’d pre-ordered the vinyl, and it arrived on the doorstep the day after the album was released.

The girls didn’t know we had ordered the record. When the ring notification alerted me on my phone that someone was at the front door, I knew exactly what had been delivered.

--

--

Nicole Akers
Publishous

Teacher | Happy Mom of 2 brings amazing tips on parenting, learning, & lifestyle | 🐶 Mom | Bestselling Author | Founder of Publishous. Keep that smile.