The Best Relationship Advice I Ever Received Is About Talking Less

I was surprised, but it works

Sinem Günel
Publishous
Published in
5 min readMar 28, 2020

--

Admittedly, there is not too much relationship advice I received so far.

I never enjoyed talking about my relationships with anyone but my partner.

I couldn’t enjoy telling my mum, my friends, or anyone else that I struggle with my boy. It just wouldn’t feel right. Maybe, it would sometimes be relieving to do so, but I guess I won’t ever do that.

Fortunately, I never felt the urge to do so. Still, even if there were significant problems, I’d prefer talking to my partner instead of discussing my relationship problems with someone else.

Therefore, I never asked anyone for relationship advice; neither did I consume any content about that topic so far.

However, a few weeks ago, I accidentally stumbled upon one specific piece of advice that caught my attention.

I was not precisely seeking help, but I knew this little change could have a massive impact on my relationship.

My boyfriend is at the same time my business partner, and on most days, we are spending 24 hours together. On one side, that’s a luxury, on the other side, however, it can be really tough.

--

--

Sinem Günel
Publishous

I help you create a business and life you love. ⚡ Start here: https://mwa.ck.page/5day