The Controversy of Unconditional Love: Is it Truly the Golden Rule?

Love comes with conditions

Nicole Akers
Publishous

--

Pexels: Photo by Marta Branco

The idea that the golden rule of love is to love unconditionally is a sentiment deeply rooted in the belief that love, in its purest form, should be limitless and all-encompassing. While the concept of unconditional love holds a profound and beautiful essence, its practical application may vary.

It’s essential to consider the complexities of human relationships and the dynamic nature of individual experiences. Unconditional love, in its ideal form, suggests loving someone regardless of their flaws, mistakes, or shortcomings. However, there are situations where setting healthy boundaries, expressing expectations, and fostering personal growth through constructive feedback become integral components of a nurturing relationship.

In essence, the question of whether unconditional love should be the golden rule depends on the context and the individuals involved. For some relationships, particularly between parents and children, the foundation of unconditional love is crucial. Still, even in such relationships, guidance, discipline, and setting boundaries play a vital role in promoting a balanced and healthy dynamic.

The golden rule of love, then, might evolve into a nuanced understanding — embracing unconditional love while recognizing that love is a multifaceted and evolving force that requires thoughtful navigation through life’s complexities.

Is there a “right” way to love someone else? I wrestle with the idea here.

On this journey of introspection, are there moments when setting boundaries becomes an act of love itself? Can challenges and disappointments be the catalysts for growth, resilience, and a deeper understanding of the complexities of life?

Love is in the air. How do you best love someone else?

Enjoy some of our recently published stories:

A Realistic Morning Routine (That Won’t Ruin Your Life) by Eve Arnold

I’ve read my fair share of morning routine articles.

There are even entire books dedicated to the topic of what you do in the first few hours of waking. Who’d thought there was sooo much to say?

For a long time, I thought the answer to my problems was simple → READ MORE

The Art of Finding Joy and Relaxation in Your Everyday Chaos by Anangsha Alammyan

When I quit my job to be a full-time writer in 2021, I had some major realizations.

Being self-employed was a new experience, and I had the freedom to work on projects that interested me. But when you come from a middle-class family → READ MORE

How To Use The “Thought Compass” To Curb Overthinking by Darshak Rana

A few years back, I had a high-paying job, a luxury car, lavish vacations, and conflict-free relationships. I labeled myself a successful person who had nothing to achieve. Nothing to prove to anyone.

Yet I was restless. → READ MORE

Why Do Women Find a Partner Faster After a Breakup? by Desiree Peralta

When I started my relationship with Jake, everything seemed perfect. We wanted to see each other every day, we wanted to talk at all hours, and we had a passion that seemed infinite.

We didn’t have eyes for anyone else. → READ MORE

Thirteen Years Ago I Went for a Run by Michael Horner

I began running a couple of months before this momentous run, but my runs were all pretty scattered with no focus.

Then, I heard about this strange race called The Marine Corps Marathon. I didn’t have a clue what a marathon was before I signed up, but I was intrigued → READ MORE

My Weight Loss Injection Diary: Body Image, Aging, and Self-Acceptance by Crystal Jackson

I am not 17 anymore. I know it, my metabolism knows it, and my hormones certainly know it. Our bodies age, but our minds retain the memory of being young. I know intellectually that I am a woman in my forties, but I’m still hard on myself when it comes to weight and body image. → READ MORE

A Simple but Powerful 5-Step Framework to Make Better Decisions by Alex Miguel Meyer

How do you make big decisions? Do you take the first idea or ask a friend? Or, you keep postponing it until it’s out of your hand.

Decision-making takes a toll on my energy levels and mental health. I never learned how to make decisions well.

Should I change my job? Buy this house? → READ MORE

In Praise of Quiet Weekends: The Subtle Joy of Doing Nothing by Violet Daniels

The guilt starts to creep in around Saturday night when I’m scrolling through Instagram.

I’m probably curled up in my duvet cocoon on the sofa with messy hair, and the evening’s dinner remains on my chin. I won’t be a pretty sight → READ MORE

You Do Know Suffering is Optional, Don’t You? by Elaine Hilides

Yuk.” Thomas spat it out into a tissue.

That’s disgusting.”

I love young clients.

When my daughters were young, they loved sharing a packet of jelly beans with their friends. → READ MORE

In a Land Where Donkeys Are King by Greyson Ferguson

“Mind yer’ fingers,” the man said in an accent of twang and git. “They tend ta’ bite quick.”

I took the small paper sack from the old man, leaving him to his shaded wooden bench. The sack, much like the man, looked well-worn, wrinkled, and stained. → READ MORE

4 Attitudes Of People Who Aren’t Good For You by Paulo A. José

No one can look after us better than we can look after ourselves.

That sounds obvious, but it’s not always easy in real life. Especially when dealing with other people.

Some people have a big impact on our health. → READ MORE

My Bully Owned My Teacher Until I Called for the Family Superhero by Tom Owens: How I REALLY Feel!

Pain plus giggles.

My pain. His giggles.

That was the common routine with fourth-grade bully Timothy Snodgrass.

This was his first year at our school. He came from a different part of town, a different state, or maybe even a different planet. → READ MORE

How to Embrace Your Otherness And Flourish by Leon Macfayden

My younger self knew a thing or two about being different. As a teenager, when all my peers had started going to bars and clubs, I fell in love with classical music. → READ MORE

Sending healthy wishes,
Nicole

--

--

Nicole Akers
Publishous

Teacher | Happy Mom of 2 brings amazing tips on parenting, learning, & lifestyle | 🐶 Mom | Bestselling Author | Founder of Publishous. Keep that smile.