The Inner Monologue Men Have That Women Don’t Know About

“Wait… Would someone watching me now assume I was a creep?”

Matthew Bates
Publishous

--

Photo: bruce mars via Pexels.com

I stood on the third-floor balcony of our annual summer beach house rental, binoculars to my eyes, trying to read the name of the shrimp boat passing in the distance. There was no real reason for it; I was just curious and relaxing while on vacation, and I found standing on the balcony and looking around with binoculars particularly relaxing. I was raised near that exact beach, but moved to Chicago when I was 18. You never realize how special living near the ocean is until you move away from it. Now the beach is just a one-week-per-year treat for me and my family.

So there I was, just enjoying the ocean breeze, salt in the air, shrimp boat slowly going by, when something happened and I had to put down the binoculars and grab a book to read instead. Something that many women wouldn’t understand, but a lot of men will. What happened that forced me to change what I was doing?

A group of high school-aged girls had shown up on the beach in front of my rental home, directly underneath the direction I was looking. They probably came out of one of the beach houses a few doors down. They were all in bikinis, giggling and posing for selfies. Their obnoxiousness was difficult to ignore.

--

--