The Journey Of My Opioid Addiction, revisted

Matti Engelbrecht
Publishous
Published in
9 min readNov 22, 2018

--

In literature or movie, you can call it an inciting incident, in the life you can call it the breaking point. After this, my life took a drift in a different direction.

Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

It all happened so fast, and nonetheless I see it in my memory through a slow-motion lens. The car approached us in a flash. We didn’t see it coming until it was too late. I can hear the loud crunch of the passenger door and feel how the airbag exploded in my face. We had been hit from the side at about 80 mph, and I had only one thought in my head: This is it. This is how I will die.

We rolled over twice and landed upside down on a small hill.

For four or five seconds after the crash it was like I had been knocked out. I didn’t fully realize what had happened. I mean, I know that we had had a pretty bad accident, but it all seemed to me like an event from some distant place. I couldn’t put two and two together. Those few seconds lasted way longer than seconds normally do, like in slow motion, as I mentioned earlier. There is something strange with our time…

--

--

Matti Engelbrecht
Publishous

Aspiring writer, theater enthusiast and a curious cat man. Find me on Twitter @Engelbrecht_Art