The Ultimate Biblical Fiction Booklist: 222+ Novels Listed In Biblical Order

Sarah Cy
Published in
9 min readSep 5, 2018

--

Okay, confession time:

Sometimes, reading the Bible feels a bit boring.

Not because there aren’t great stories and lessons (and far more than that) in there, but because I’ve heard the stories a few too many times, and in the same way.

Enter Biblical fiction.

When I discovered that there were authors out there who expanded these retellings into entire book-length novels, I was hooked. Not only did many Biblical fiction books give me a greater sense of the context of Bible events, they also inspired me to pick up my Bible and re-read the old stories from a new perspective.

I mean, having the power of Biblical stories brought to life by creative writers with often phenomenal research and description talents?

Yes, please!

So if you are getting tired of reading the Bible, may the stories below re-light your interest as well.

Recommendations:

Personally, I enjoy reading Biblical fiction that is well-researched and sticks closely to the original story.

Of course authors must take creative liberties when writing historical or Biblical fiction, but I appreciate it when authors do so in ways that strengthen the story.

That said, I highly, highly recommend all of Lynn Austin’s Biblical fiction, particularly her series on King Hezekiah (Chronicles of the Kings). I also recommend Pearl in the Sand, The Bronze Bow, Mesu Andrews’ Miriam, Ben Hur, and Quo Vadis.

And if anyone has further recommendations on this topic, let me know! I am always looking for good Biblical fiction to read!

Below, I list all of the books and authors in this genre culled from Google, Amazon, and Goodreads. They are listed in Biblical order.*

Formatting Key:

  • Title of Book/Series, (# of books in series) — Author’s Name (Biblical person/events referenced**)
  • [Books that are not technically Biblical fiction but related/close enough]
  • Books that I presonally have read and recommend

OLD TESTAMENT

Genesis

Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy

Joshua

Judges

Ruth

1 & 2 Samuel

1 & 2 Kings & Chronicles

Ezra, Nehemiah, Zechariah

Esther

Job

Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Songs

Isaiah

Jeremiah, Lamentations, Ezekiel, Daniel

Hosea

  • Love in a Broken Vessel Mesu Andrews (Hosea & Gomer)
  • (Redeeming Love — Francine Rivers [Not Biblical fiction, but so well known and based on the Hosea & Gomer story, that I had to include it in this list])

Amos

Other Minor Prophets: Joel, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, Malachi

No books so far. Anyone want to give it a try? *Nudge, nudge, wink, wink* ;)

NEW TESTAMENT

Matthew, Mark, Luke, John

Acts

The Epistles & beyond (Romans…Philemon…)

Disclaimers:

*I’ve read some, though of course not all, of the books listed here. Inclusion does not mean unmitigated approval of all the books. You must judge for yourself!

**Biblical characters referenced are not necessarily the main/featured character of the novel. Some authors prefer to tell their story through the eyes of another minor or made-up character.

Ready to be a Brilliant Writer?

I’ve created The Brilliant Writer Checklist to help you clarify your message, reach more readers, and change the world with your words.

Get the checklist here!

--

--

Sarah Cy
Publishous

(aka The Scylighter). Writer, musician, reader, daughter. Join our Merry Band, become a Brilliant Writer, and dazzle your readers! BeABrilliantWriter.com