This Is What Happened When I Stopped Dying My Hair

I took a journey to the dark side and I liked it.

Lucy King
Publishous

--

Photo by Mārtiņš Zemlickis on Unsplash

I went cold turkey and stopped dying my hair eighteen months ago.

Tow-headed as a child, my hair darkened after I hit puberty. Like many women I fought back against nature. On my 16th birthday, I dyed my nondescript auburn locks a shade of honey blonde.

And just like that, I had set in motion a cycle of monthly salon visits that continued unabated for decades.

Bottle blonde is a major commitment.

Over the years I have been ash blonde, beige blonde, strawberry blonde and platinum. When I left the salon I’d look great, but after a few weeks I’d soon be running back to my stylist as regrowth appeared.

After 20 years of bleaching, my hair was not only fried, I had no idea what my natural color was anymore. Would people even recognize me if I wasn’t blonde?

I was tired of hair-induced angst — the madness had to stop!

With steely resolve, I let nature take its course.

A darker story.

As of today, I have eight inches of natural hair untouched by bleach. My virgin hair is darkish and falls to my ears. Ten inches of bright…

--

--