This is Why Old Men Prefer Young Girls

Spoiler alert: it’s because they are big losers.

Desiree Peralta
Publishous

--

Photo by Katie Salerno

When I was sixteen, I met a 22-year-old guy on the internet.

He had a car, a full-time job as a law assistant, and was very advanced in his college career.

I, on the contrary, was a schoolgirl.

My income was $50 a month (that my dad gave me to buy snacks). I didn’t have a license or ID, and my parents wouldn’t let me go anywhere I wanted; I had to ask for permission at least a week in advance.

However, even though we were in very different stages of life, we got along very well and “fell in love.”

According to him, I was very mature for my age, and he liked that I always knew what I wanted. We made plans for me to go to the same college so we could spend more time together, and he was more than happy to support me in anything I needed.

At that moment, I thought that I was very lucky to find someone successful like him to fall in love with me, and I felt I was a very good person because I was enough for someone who was already in such a different stage than mine.

But later, I discovered the real reason why he was interested in me.

--

--

Desiree Peralta
Publishous

Turning ideas into reality. Programmer by profession, Writer by passion. Finance and business advice. | Weekly money advice https://dessyperalt.substack.com/