Thoughts While Writing A New Book

Jon Acuff
Publishous
Published in
2 min readDec 17, 2018
Photo by PIxabay

I’m working on my new book today. I don’t know when the fear of writing a new one goes away, but I can tell you it’s does not when your writing your seventh book.

Here are a few thoughts running through my mind right now:

  • Will anyone like it?
  • Will it be written in someone else’s voice and not my own?
  • What is my voice?
  • How come other authors are so much better at talking about their books?
  • Am I tweeting enough?
  • Am I listening to the most creative music possible? Would it be easier if I had a better soundtrack to this moment?
  • If your eyelid is fluttering, does that mean you’ve had too much coffee?
  • How do I give this book my all but not make it my identity because the pressure of that will crush my creativity? Who is this book for?
  • Is this a first world problem, complaining about how hard writing a book is?
  • Why do I care so much about what other people think?
  • Should I fix that before I write another book?
  • Is that a fixable thing or just my personality because I’m a 7 on the enneagram?
  • Should I go on some sort of vision quest to solve every anxiety I have before I write this book?
  • How long will that take? Do I have to go to Myanmar to do that? Why did I have to Google that country to spell it correctly? Am I even smart enough to write a book if I can’t spell “Myanmar?”
  • Am I the only one who doesn’t like the taste of coconut water? How come I like when other people post photos of their face on Instagram but I’m afraid to?
  • Do I like to pretend it’s because I’m humble but it’s really because I’m insecure?
  • This vision quest is going to take FOREVER.
  • When am I going to finish this book?

These are just a few of the thoughts in my head when I try to focus and write.

I hope your creative process is easier, but if it’s not… welcome to the club.

Just keep filling the page, one word at a time.

If you feel remotely like I do, I’d love to connect with you further. I’ll send you more writing insights each week if you click here.

How do you feel when you write? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

--

--

Jon Acuff
Publishous

New York Times Bestselling Author of FINISH. Visit http://Acuff.Me/finish to get a copy. Married to Jenny. Dad to L.E. & McRae.