Three Pandemic Films You Need to Avoid During Lockdown Anxiety

Three millennial plot lines that seem way too familiar right now

Andrew Ricketts
Publishous

--

Cate Blanchett in 2011’s “Contagion.”

“Ayo, cuz, this shit like a movie.”

That’s what my cousin said to me after I took the 40-minute road trip to Queens. I came to support my mom while her husband fights cancer. The battle didn’t look good.

The last week has been Hell. On the New York highway, black and yellow LED signs read: Stay home. Stop the spread. Flatten the curve. Fifth Avenue whistled lonely notes from empty park benches. Midtown streets looked like an eternal 4 a.m.

In the group chat, my cousin grew suspicious first: “Feel like they not telling us something. This shit more serious than they say.”

Since leaving Jamaica, he’s lived in New York with my mom for five years. That means he can become a citizen but I’m not sure why he‘d want to. The world is upside down.

I watch too many movies and he’s right about how the crisis is unfolding. The outbreak is more serious than what the leaders said. The trend follows an uncanny script. We are whole and functional as a society because systems hold. We are whole because people make choices to be good and ethical much more often than they make choices to be unseemly and evil. Movies are…

--

--

Andrew Ricketts
Publishous

I’m a Caribbean and American writer from New York. My stories are about coming-of-age, learning how to relate, and family. It’s a living, breathing memoir.