Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

Time to Schedule a Check-up

Maria I. Morgan
Publishous
3 min readJul 15, 2018

--

I’m not a big fan of doctor’s appointments. You either? Recently I had a routine physical — the kind that involves a fasting blood draw. Not a big deal until I realized my appointment was scheduled at 9:45. Ugh! No breakfast or coffee for me.

As I answered the nurse’s questions and received a good report following my resting EKG, I felt confident my blood work would also be a non-issue. But some of the numbers on my computer screen the next day told a different story.

A couple elevated enzymes and a spike in my cholesterol level surprised me. Other than feeling a bit tired, I would have told you I was doing great. But obviously I’m going to have to make a few dietary changes to avoid future problems.

My annual physical reminded of the importance of doing regular check-ups on my spiritual life as well. It’s easy to do the Christian thing: read my Bible, pray, go to church. The problem comes when I do these things on autopilot.

Here are some things I need to keep in mind:

*Be fully engaged — seek the Lord

And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thine heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy might. Deuteronomy 6:5, KJV

Love Him with everything in me. Give Him first place.

*Confess my sin

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. 1 John 1:9, KJV

Agree with Him about my sin. He’s just waiting for me to come to Him and confess it. He is the One who is faithful to forgive.

*Make changes in my life to avoid future pitfalls

That ye put off concerning the former conversation the old man, which is corrupt according to the deceitful lusts; And be renewed in the spirit of your mind; And that ye put on the new man, which after God is created in righteousness and true holiness. Ephesians 4:22–24, KJV

Remember Whose I am and that the sanctification process will continue until I’m in the presence of the Lord. It’s not time to let my guard down. It’s time to stay connected to my Power Source: Jesus Christ.

I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.
John 15:5, KJV

Your turn

How is your spiritual life? Is it time to do a check-up? What step will you take today to draw closer to the Lord?

Can I pray for you?

Heavenly Father, thank You for who You are. For being such a gracious and merciful God. Give us the desire to love You whole-heartedly. To confess our sins, and make the necessary changes in our lives that would help us avoid future problems. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Join me for the 30-Days of Praying God’s Word Challenge!

I’m really excited to introduce this 30-day prayer Challenge! Praying Scripture over the next 30 days will transform your prayer life. Will you join me for the Challenge? Sign up here (just click on the “Join the Challenge” button on my Home Page to get started).

--

--

Maria I. Morgan
Publishous

Inspirational writer and speaker. Regardless of the age of my audience, my goal is the same: to share God’s truths and make an eternal difference.