Tomorrow Doesn’t Exist Today

Are you waiting for one day to start living?

Elaine Hilides
Publishous

--

Woman waiting
Photo by Guilherme Stecanella on Unsplash

One day, my dad brought home a bag of underwear that had ‘fallen off the back of a lorry’ for my mum and me. Laughing, he told us that these knickers were nearly new.

We didn’t laugh. He thought we’d use them one day, but they stayed in the bag.

One day, my dad started to build a boat. But he built the boat in a shed, and the door was too small to get the completed boat out.

So, one day, he bought a boat even though he couldn’t swim.

One day, my dad died. He was 52.

How many times do you say that one day?

One I’ll …

When you say that ‘one day’ you’ll start something, do you mean it, or do you know in your gut you’re never going to?

One day never arrives.

Why do you keep saying it?

Maybe you’re hoping that you’ll be more likely to follow through by saying it out loud. Or perhaps you’re just trying to convince yourself that it will happen?

Or maybe it’s an excuse not to do it today?

But one day you won’t have any more days, so what are you waiting for? As Steve Jobs said to Stanford graduates,

--

--

Elaine Hilides
Publishous

I can help you go from anxious to peaceful. Wellbeing coach for over a decade. Author, and International speaker, lives by the sea. elainehilides.com