We Create Magical Moments When We Read with Our Kids

The power is not in the book but in the conversation.

Dr Jeff Livingston
Publishous

--

Wavebreakmedia Istock by Getty

My ten-year-old daughter Lucia asked, “Dad, do you want to read with me?” No, I didn’t. It was late, and I was exhausted after a long day in the office. But I have a rule. When my kids want to talk, I make myself available. Kids want to talk on their terms, not ours, and my children often want to chat at the most inconvenient times.

And who can say no to a 10-year-old?

We nestled into a cozy spot on the bed. Her homework assignment was simple. Read a book and provide a summary. Her book was The Carpenter by John Gordon.

Her selection of an adult self-help book did not surprise me. A few months ago, we read another John Gordon book, The Positive Dog. She loved its upbeat and optimistic message. I suspect she craved something uplifting during these challenging times.

The Carpenter tells the story of Michael, a hard-working entrepreneur, who suffers a stress-induced heart attack while jogging. A stranger finds him collapsed on the ground, rushes him to the hospital, and saves his life.

While taking some medically-prescribed time off work, Michael hires the stranger, a carpenter, to help build an entertainment center. Michael learns this man is…

--

--

Dr Jeff Livingston
Publishous

Obgyn, Husband, Father, & Entrepreneur. Writing about Women’s Health, Parenting, and Self-improvement. CEO of MacArthurmc.com & founder of Medika.life