What Does Home Mean to You?

Beyond Brick and Mortar: The Mental Sanctuary of Home

Elaine Hilides
Publishous

--

Bird house in a tree
Photo by Chris Haws on Unsplash

I’m in the middle of packing up, selling and storing, ready for our next adventure.

I thought I had relatively little clutter, but I was wrong. Am I packing up my home or my stuff? It’s got me thinking about what I call home.

Growing up, I lived in a small flat on the top floor of a converted house. I never realised until recently how impermanent it felt, even though I lived there for 21 years. The feeling of impermanence may have originated from my mum, who always wanted to move, and now, looking back, I wonder why we didn’t.

How many people stay somewhere they don’t want to be because they call it home?

What Do You Call Home?

Is it where you live or where you used to live?

Does home define who you are? Do you identify with home? Susan Clayton, an environmental psychologist at the College of Wooster, says home is part of many people's definition of self.

Does the home you identify with exist?

A wonderful Irish family lived on the ground floor of the house I grew up in. I remember my confusion when the parents would talk about going home when, to me, they were already home. Their daughter…

--

--

Elaine Hilides
Publishous

I can help you go from anxious to peaceful. Wellbeing coach for over a decade. Author, and International speaker, lives by the sea. elainehilides.com