What Does it Mean to Ask In Jesus’ Name?

Why Christians end their prayers with this saying

Kimberley Payne
Publishous
Published in
3 min readSep 21, 2019

--

When I was a teenager, I remember my brother suggesting to me that if I asked for something in Jesus’ name, it would be given to me. My eldest brother was schooled in theology and regularly attended church and youth group activities.

I believed what he told me but didn’t quite understand.

At first, I thought it was like finding a genie’s lamp

You had to rub it firmly before the genie would appear. I thought that asking for something in Jesus’ name was similar to rubbing the lamp. It was a prerequisite required for my Lord to hear my prayer.

However, as I learned more about my faith this youthful misunderstanding was replaced with a more ritualistic assumption.

I heard other people ending their prayers, “In Jesus’ name” and assumed this was to announce the ending of the prayer — something like “Amen.”

But again, I was wrong.

I have since learned the significance of saying, “In Jesus’ name” at the end of my prayers

In Hebrew, a person’s name depicted the whole character of the individual.

--

--

Kimberley Payne
Publishous

Jesus Follower. Oma. Author. Writing to help others grow closer to God. Download 5 Free Prayer Models at www.kimberleypayne.com/freebies/