What If Happiness Isn’t as Complicated and Elusive as We Think?

Repeatedly ask yourself this insightful question to keep you on track and living with integrity

Allison Burney
Publishous

--

Photo by Alessandro Sicari on Unsplash

What if we’ve had it wrong all along?

What if this happiness thing isn’t actually all that complex?

We like to examine it and debate it and try to figure out the perfect formula for happiness, but maybe it’s all become too much. Perhaps, as is so often the case, we just need to go back to basics.

Recent events in my own life have caused me to stop, slow down, and really look deeply at myself and the way I’ve been living my life. When everything in my world suddenly came to a screeching halt, it served as a forced reset.

It made me take an honest look inside myself, and what I found wasn’t all that pretty.

Okay, That’s Putting It Mildly

The truth is, when I was forced to take stock of my life, what I discovered was a big, messy mess. My life was basically in shambles.

I was depressed, my relationship with my husband was rapidly deteriorating despite getting married only ten months prior, I’d completely lost my connection to myself, and it had been the year from hell for my family in…

--

--

Allison Burney
Publishous

Writer, ghostwriter & proofreader. On a mission to keep exploring, learning & enjoying this adventure we call life. Work with me: allisonburney.com