What Lt Columbo Learned from a Nun

A nun teaches Lieutenant Columbo about character

--

Image by Prawny from Pixabay

Childhood memories of Columbo

A friend gave me Season 3 of Columbo on DVD. I want to buy the whole series. When I was a kid I enjoyed watching it when it was part of a Mystery Theatre rotation of other TV series such as McMillan and Wife. Whenever I saw an episode of Columbo with my parents, we thought it was so hilarious how he would keep bothering the murderers while having their breakfast, at work, home, out on a date, playing tennis. We could feel the internal message going through their heads.

“I think I’ll confess. I did it. I did it. Officer, get him to leave me alone! Take me away. Promise, me, please, Lieutenant Columbo will never come bothering me in prison. I’ll say anything you want me to. I’ll sign anything. Just get him out of my sight!”

What character is

H.Jackson Brown, Jr., an American author best known for his inspirational book, Life’s Little Instruction Book, is noted for this well-known quote.

“Character is what we do when no one is looking.”

Our true measure as individuals is not so much what we do in front of others. Character, whether it is good, mediocre or bad, is…

--

--

Dr. Kevin Osborne Psy.D., D.Sc., D.D., D.P.C.
Publishous

I’m a therapist, chaplain, writer, poet, singer. I help people in their inner healing journey. Writer for Publishous, Koinonia, a Few Words, Hopes and Dreams