What Will Happen If You Pray: “Lord, surprise me.”?

Astonishing tales

Janis Cox
Publishous
Published in
4 min readJan 11, 2019

--

Pixabay photo

I had been looking at ways to interact with God.

I’ve been circling and circling. Not turning around and getting dizzy but circling my prayers. Letting them go round and round in my head and in my journal.

As I continued the study Draw the Circle — The 40 Day Prayer Challenge, by Mark Batterson, I felt closer and closer to God. I started to see things I had never seen before.

On Day 16 of the study, I prayed this prayer: “Lord, Surprise Me!”

I prayed that prayer and in the middle of the night the power went off. It stayed off until 9:30 am. That didn’t happen very often so it was certainly unusual.

We didn’t know how long it would be off but we used our generator for some of the time. As I sat to read my Bible, I saw the prayer I had prayed the day before: Lord, Surprise me!

And He certainly did. That brought laughter bubbling up

The next day I prayed the same prayer, circling my prayers once again. And out of the blue, a friend from very far away doing a long 7000 km trip, whom I have met only a few times, emailed to say she and her…

--

--

Janis Cox
Publishous

Creativity Spiritual Catalyst. Author/Illustrator. Jesus follower. Growing Through God's Word FB group for reading the Bible. janiscox.com