What You Need to Know for Baby’s First Flight

Flying with less Crying (for Babies and Toddlers)

Colleen B. Higgs
Publishous

--

By my 20th birthday, I’d taken one trip involving air travel. One. By my child’s second birthday, she’d flown around the world. She’d done a half dozen long haul flights and at least a dozen shorter hops.

Photo by Laura lee Moreau on Unsplash

Here’s what you need to know before flying with your baby or toddler. I wish I’d figured all this out sooner.

Guiding Principles

Overtired and over-stimulated. Those are the states we wish we could avoid. But travel does mess up bedtime routines. Babies will get tired. They will be fussy.

Our goal as parents is to limit how overtired and how over-stimulated our little ones become. And to help them recover sooner rather than later.

It is a great irony of parenting that a well-rested child will rest. An overtired, exhausted child will not fall asleep. “Sleep begets sleep,” the experts say. Lack of sleep just brings out the ugly in all of us.

It’s the same for adults. You know the drill. You’re up against a deadline. You push through the fatigue into the wee hours of the morning. When your head hits the pillow, you’re acutely…

--

--

Colleen B. Higgs
Publishous

I used to know how to do my job. Now I’m a parent. I give parents permission to stress less and enjoy their kids more. Download free e-book at colleenhiggs.com