When An Elf Is Real But Santa Is Not (A True Christmas Story)

K. Kris Loomis 📚
Publishous
Published in
3 min readDec 4, 2017

--

My oldest nephew, Bradley, started dating a really nice girl while my husband and I were living in Ecuador. This past Thanksgiving was the first opportunity I had to spend any time with her since we moved back to the states.

Megan is a smart and focused college girl who wants to be a principal in an elementary school one day. She’s forward-thinking and practical. She’s the kind of girl who doesn’t believe in fairytales.

While I was on the floor with the ‘kids’ after dinner, I noticed the infamous “elf” hanging out on the proverbial shelf in the den. I asked my two nephews if they missed having the elf be part of their Christmastime rituals, and they laughed. Then Bradley said, “Yeah, I knew Santa wasn’t real, but I thought the elf was.”

His younger brother, Jake, chimed in and agreed that although he didn’t believe in Santa, he believed in that elf. I looked at Megan, and she said incredulously, “It’s true. They didn’t believe in Santa Claus but they totally believed in the Elf.” She and I shared a collective eye roll.

“You believed the elf was real?” I asked the boys. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing.

Jake said, “Yeah, and he could fly.” AND HE COULD FLY!

--

--

K. Kris Loomis 📚
Publishous

Writer, bibliophile, yogini, chess geek, player of Beethoven and Scriabin. Más cafe, por favor! Find out more about Kris at https://manylink.co/@kkrisloomis