When Your Heart is Heavy and You Have So Much to Say to God…..

Evi Abada, MD, MS
Publishous
Published in
3 min readMar 19, 2018
unsplash.com

Dear God,

You alone know exactly how I feel right now. I cannot vocalize the contents of my heart to anyone else, and that is why I am choosing to write to You.

Lord, my heart is heavy and full of so many uncertainties. This journey has been difficult, and through it all, You alone have been my strength.

With the grace You have blessed me with, I try to put smiles on the faces of others as best as I can. I try to tell others that there is always hope for a better tomorrow.

I tell those downcast, frustrated and passing through difficult challenges that You always have their best interests at heart. And that You are always working everything out for their good (Romans 8:28).

I trust these words Lord, and I believe that You can indeed do exceeding, abundantly far above what we ever ask or think, through Your power that works within us, as recorded in your Word (Ephesians 3:20).

Lord, I am looking only up to You. I trust that You indeed can turn this tide around. And I also know that You alone have the power to make the difference in this situation. You are the only One who can turn this impossible situation around.

As I look only up to you God, please help me to always keep my eyes fixed on You. I know that You wish above all things that I prosper and be in health, even as my soul prospers (3 John 2).

You are more powerful than the most powerful man in the whole world. You rule in the affairs of men (Daniel 4:17), and You said that if we ask anything according to Your will, You hear us (1 John 5:14).

My Father, I have asked, and I know that You have heard me. I know that You can make this happen. Please, Lord, let Your Joy and everlasting Peace never cease from my life and my home.

Father, please do this that men and women may know that You indeed still work miracles, just like You did in the time of old. Please God, make my joy full and complete.

I feel like crying out loud and pouring my heart in full to You. But, I know that you see my heart, and You know exactly how I feel. And moreover, I do not want to make this period more difficult for my family to swallow.

So, I would just try to keep my cool, believing and trusting that You would indeed do as You have promised in Your Word.

And here is one more thing God. You said You make everything beautiful in Your time (Ecclesiastes 3:11). So, I know that You have a plan for me and my family.

And like Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego in the Bible said to King Nebuchadnezzar, even if this doesn’t come through, yet will I praise You. I would never turn my back on You, regardless of the outcome of this situation.

And here is another thing I ask of you Lord. Please give me the grace and the strength to stomach whatever outcome I get, because I know that all things indeed are working together for my good (Romans 8:28).

Help me to never be so foolish, as to relegate You to the back quarters of my life. Because You are the reason I live, and it’s Your breath that keeps me alive every day.

Thank you, Lord for Your Holy Spirit, that comforts us and strengthens us with the courage to face each new day.

And thank You for Your Dear Son Jesus, whose sacrifice on the cross actually allows me to write this letter to You.

And thank You, God, for taking the time to read the contents of my heart. I love You so much!

Your daughter,

Evi

(Written Sunday, March 11th, 2018 at 4:31 PM)

--

--