Who Took Christ out of Christianity?

Stephen Sovie
Publishous
Published in
8 min readFeb 11, 2019

--

The second death of Christ.

Wikipedia

I’m not a religious person, even though I was raised a Catholic and my family still are active in the Church. I drifted away because of a number of reasons, of which hypocrisy is one of the strongest. I am gay and have always been bombarded with condemnation and reasons for my worthlessness. These lessons were taught by everyone from the pope on down to the nuns in my school. They did not come from Jesus Christ!

I could relate that to helping feed the hungry and poor of our community.

I think I stayed connected to my religion not because my parents forced me to go to church and Catholic school, but because of the stories I heard or read about on the life of Christ. I can remember the story of the loaves and fishes where Jesus fed the masses. I could relate that to helping feed the hungry and poor of our community. It seemed that Jesus was always helping the less fortunate in society. I liked that. Now people can be arrested for leaving food and drinking water for poor hungry migrants at the border, who are seeking a better life for themselves and their families!

Immigrants are now demonized and unwelcome in this country,…

I remember the story of the Good Samaritan, in which Jesus taught us about expressing love for our neighbor, no matter who or where…

--

--

Stephen Sovie
Publishous

A liberal retiree who loves writing about politics, social issues, my pets and my life experiences. You can buy me coffee here, https://ko-fi.com/stephensovie