Why Advertising Doesn’t Work

The world has changed and you should, too.

Frank McKinley
Publishous

--

Photo by Paweł Czerwiński on Unsplash

The world has changed radically since I was a kid.

And it’s never going back.

Every day after school back in the 1970s, I watched TV. I loved the shows, but honestly, I could care less about the commercials.

They did provide one benefit, though.

I was able to go to the bathroom without missing a minute of the action.

That’s what made movies awesome. They front-loaded all the commercials, so once the film started rolling, there would be no interruptions.

That meant you better go to the bathroom beforehand or you’d pay for it later after you drink that 20 gallon Coke from the concession stand. And of course, you will. The salty, buttery tub of popcorn makes you as thirsty as a barren desert.

Commercials being interruptions is nothing new. That’s why TV was free to watch. Honestly, I think TV was created so advertisers would have another stage to showcase their products.

Now, commercials are everywhere. In your apps. On your social media feeds. In your Internet radio.

Commercials even litter my favorite blog posts.

--

--

Frank McKinley
Publishous

I like to figure things out and share what I find. My favorite topics are faith, communication, business, and personal growth. https://skl.sh/2Xp1p8d