Why Believing in Yourself is Overrated

And why you should believe in a purpose instead.

Victor Ha
Publishous

--

Photo by Katrina on Unsplash

If I had a dime for every time I was advised to believe in myself, I’d have enough to buy a double Shackburger at Shake Shack. For you, it might be crinkle cut fries or even a full meal.

Heck, I too am guilty of having in the past told one too many individuals to believe in themselves.

Lately, I’m beginning to think that believing in yourself, while important, may not be the most important belief we should hold in our walk toward success.

The role of self-belief

As part of my MBA program, I once spent a weekend at a motivational course run by Shiv Khera, author of ‘You Can Win’.

One of the things we were asked to do after the course was to stare into the mirror each morning and repeat positive statements to ourselves like: “You are a winner!”, or “You are going to have a great day, nothing can stop you!”

It sounded stupid to me, but I decided to try it out anyway.

And it worked, in some way.

At the very least, saying those things put me in the right frame of mind to tackle the day’s activities.

--

--

Victor Ha
Publishous

Creator of “Big to Small Thinking”. I'm here to help you break down the complexities of modern living and working. Your free blueprint-> https://bit.ly/2PzQFOX