PRODUCTIVITY

Why Do We Get So Grumpy & Unproductive After 40?

Life should be getting easier, and yet we struggle to cope

Chris Davidson
Publishous
Published in
6 min readJan 16, 2024

--

canva

If you’ve danced past the big 4–0, you might have noticed a few changes that affect your ability to get things done.

At times, for me, as a 47-year-old Dad-of-3, my energy isn’t what it used to be, and my to-do list feels like it’s written in a foreign language.

And watching videos on Youtube of some sprightly 20-something trying to teach me Productivity Hacks never seems to help!

I’ve noticed a few changes as I’ve gotten older that have affected my ability to cope with all the cr*p on my plate. Some I’ve managed to overcome, others I’m still in a daily battle with. I’m sure at least a few of these will ring a bell for you too…

1. Where The Hell Did All My Energy Go?

I remember in the late 90s I could be out clubbing until 1am and still get to class at 9am. I’d be lucky to make it to class by 9pm these days.

If I don’t get enough quality sleep I’m a grumpy mess, and my To-Do list stays pretty much intact until the next day.

After 40 the key thing is to understand you are no longer bulletproof, and need some TLC in the…

--

--

Chris Davidson
Publishous

Coach to busy, confused & out-of-shape Men Over-40 • Dad of 3 • Irishman • Writer • Grab my 'DadBod Overhaul' book here: https://www.offacoach.com/dbobook