Why I Hate Motivational Quotes

I don’t need “If you can dream it, you can do it” in my life, Walt Disney…

Sukhroop Singh
Publishous
Published in
3 min readSep 4, 2019

--

In the past few years, we’ve seen a tremendous rise in products that serve only in reasons of motivation. The motivational speech, the motivational quote, the motivational article, the motivational company. It seems that everybody needs a lift these days, and many people are turning to these products in hopes of doing just that — getting a lift.

However, I’ve always found motivational quotes un-motivational, in a way. I’ll watch a twenty-minute TED-Talk or motivational video, and feel inspired, and then falter, and revert back to the way I was before I’d watched the video. And then I’ll repeat the cycle, figuring that there must be something wrong with me.

I find motivational quotes or speeches or articles unsatisfying because of the sheer multitude of them there are. People just can’t seem to get enough of the stuff. Hanging those quotes on their walls in front of their work space, liking and commenting on motivational videos until eventually they have a thousand or two thousand likes…

When will people realize that being motivated to do something is not the same thing as actually doing that thing? Writing isn’t something that you can do free of writer’s block, of failure, just because you…

--

--

Sukhroop Singh
Publishous

Sukhroop Singh is a Youtuber, reader, and avid lover of philosophy and basketball | www. craftofstory.com