Why I Prefer to Write in English Even Though It’s Not My Native Language

6 Reasons Why I Choose to Write in English

N.A. Turner
Publishous
Published in
6 min readNov 8, 2018

--

A few weeks ago I wrote an article titled “10 Things About Me That Might Surprise You”. In the article, I confess I’m Dutch and that English is my second language. Then, fellow writer Nick Wignall added a note to that saying that the reason why I write in English would make a fascinating article according to him. Well, I’m not sure about fascinating, but it got me thinking… why do I prefer to write in English?

I used to write in Dutch of course. It’s easier to navigate I have to admit. Naturally, words come easier. However, there is just something about English that fascinates me, ever since I was a little kid.

I would love to live in the United Kingdom one day, always have. Whenever my feet hit British soil, I feel at home. The people, the customs, the pubs, their way of life. I love it.

But that doesn’t answer the question: why do I prefer writing in English?

1. I Love the Language

I just love the English language, from the pronunciation, tone, rhythm, and possibilities. Obviously, I have to look up words or grammar, but I’m striving to become better and I’ve learned a lot in the last one and a half years.

--

--

N.A. Turner
Publishous

I write about writing & creativity. Short story writer and novelist. Amazon best-selling author. Free eBook with writing tips: bit.ly/TurnerMail